Thoughts on the Magnificent Jewels Auction at Sotheby’s held December 2009

July 30, 2010

Here is a post that I had apparently left on draft for over 6 months:

I suppose I should have written down my thoughts on Sotheby’s Magnificent Jewels auction right after the event, but for what I have narrowed down to a couple of reasons, I procrastinated.  The more practical one is that we had such horrible weather that day, the 9th of December.  If not for the fact that I had gone to the viewing two days earlier and was quite intrigued by the selection of pieces that were going to be put up, I would not have braved heading out more times than was absolutely necessary.  The auction was also not as glamorous a scene in comparison to the other auctions I have been to, or even half as chic as the exhibition for it.  There were no regally dressed women, none of the fashion-forward younger crowd, because as can be expected, New Yorkers can be quite pragmatic about dressing for the weather.   A uniform of Hunter boots (I was in a navy blue pair myself), Arche water resistant boots, and other such footwear complemented the parade of trench coats from the small fraction of people who managed to attend.  Leaving Sotheby’s was also a bit of an ordeal with everyone clamoring for cabs, that I did not have the energy to actually put pen to paper (or in actuality, type on my laptop) later that evening.

The other reason is that I had decided before attending to make a list of my top 5 pieces, but as is usually the case when it comes to jewelry, my greedy eye had the best of me, and I marked more than double that number.  I eventually edited down to 10 pieces that are either classic, regal items that I would love to have worn in the Regency era, or more ironic, interesting pieces that suit my personality (not that I would currently be able to afford any of them, but it never hurts to dream ).

Leave a Reply

